Department of Medicine

Dr. Sharon Straus receives AFMC May Cohen Award in Equity, Diversity and Gender

Jan 31, 2019

Dr. StrausDr. Sharon Straus Dr. Sharon Straus, Professor and Vice-Chair of Mentorship, Equity and Diversity (MED) in the Department of Medicine, is the 2018 recipient of the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada (AFMC) May Cohen Equity, Diversity and Gender Award.

This prestigious award recognizes the outstanding efforts of an individual, program, department of faculty in improving the equity, diversity and gender environment in academic medicine in Canada. The award is named for May Cohen, a pioneer for positive change in women’s health.

Dr. Straus leads the MED portfolio in the DoM which was established to support the recruitment and retention of our excellent faculty through mentorship, increasing faculty diversity to reflect our population, and ensuring a safe and professional work environment.

Dr. Straus is also the interim Physician in Chief at St. Michael’s Hospital and Department Division Director for Geriatric Medicine in the DoM.