Appointments & Awards: October 2017

Oct 1, 2017


Academia Europae

Vincent Piguet, Member
The object of Academia Europaea is the advancement and propagation of excellence in scholarship in the humanities, law, the economic, social, and political sciences, mathematics, medicine, and all branches of natural and technological sciences anywhere in the world for the public benefit and for the advancement of the education of the public of all ages in the aforesaid subjects in Europe.

Order of Canada

Sharon Walmsley, Member of the Order of Canada


American College of Rheumatology

Murray Urowitz, Distinguished Clinical Investigator Award
This American College of Rheumatology Award is given to a clinical scientist who has made outstanding, internationally-recognised contributions to the field of rheumatology. Dr. Urowitz was nominated by his American colleagues for his extensive work which has advanced the understanding of disease presentation, management and prognosis of patients with systemic lupus erythematosus.     

American Heart Association’s Council on Cardiopulmonary, Critical Care, Perioperative and Resuscitation (3CPR)

Laurie Morrison, 2017 Dickinson W. Richards Memorial Lecturer
This lecture was originally established and presented in 1973 when the council was known as the council on Cardiopulmonary Disease.  Dr Richards shared the Nobel Prize in 1956 with Drs. Andre Cournand and Werner Forssman for work leading to a practical method of cardiac catheterization.

Canadian Cardiovascular Society

Jay Udell, ESC Young Investigator Award

Canadian Society of Transplantation

Gary Levy, CST Lifetime Achievement Award
Awarded to a well established transplant physician, surgeon or scientist for their internationally recognized work in the field of transplantation and participation in the development of transplantation activities in Canada

European Resuscitation Council

Laurie Morrison, Honorary Member
This award is based on life-long commitment and leadership in resuscitation care and the first Canadian to receive the award.

International Liver Transplant Society

Gary Levy, ILTS Distinguished Service Award
This award recognizes considerable contributions to the field of liver transplantation over the years.

Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons

Liz Tullis, Regional Prix d’excellence — Specialist of the Year: Region 3

University of Toronto

Maria Wolfs, Dr. Robert Volpé Award  
This award recognizes excellence in teaching, educational leadership and educational administration at the Undergraduate level of the MD Program at the University of Toronto by a division member.

University of Toronto, Division of Endocrinology

Robert Silver, Dr. George L.A From Postgraduate Award
This award honours teachers who exemplify all of the CanMEDS roles and are outstanding teachers.

Back to Top